Trump Admin Punishing Countries That Won’t Accept Deportees

Four countries are hitting back against President Trump’s deportation efforts by refusing to take back their own citizens, “denying or unreasonably delaying” their return.

Secretary of State Rex Tillerson has now outlined new restrictions for Eritrea, Cambodia, Guinea and Sierra Leone in regards to obtaining visas, these being among 12 or more that were deemed “recalcitrant” in the receiving of its own citizens, according to the Department of Homeland Security.

It should be rather telling when these countries refuse to take back their own, legal, citizens… right? It even makes me wonder if a number of them have records that we simply do not have access to. And for the sake of their own economy, wouldn’t they want their own countrymen back on their own land, working?

As reported by The Daily Caller:

Eritrea faces the toughest sanctions of the four countries. Going forward, all Eritreans who apply in their own country for most U.S. business or tourist visas will be rejected, according to one of the cables.


Cambodia faces the lightest sanctions. Only foreign Ministry employees at or above the rank of director general and their families will be refused visas, according to one of the cables.

The possibility of visa sanctions was first reported by the Washington Times in August. At the time, DHS officials confirmed that Acting Homeland Security Secretary Elaine Duke had signed letters identifying four countries as deserving of punishment for refusing to cooperate on deportations. The letters triggered a section of immigration law that requires the State Department to formulate sanctions on offending countries.


The Trump administration has put heavy diplomatic pressure on countries that resist accepting deportees. Since January, DHS has removed eight countries — including Iraq and Somalia — from a list of 20 that are considered habitual offenders.

As of July, the 12 nations still on the list were China, Cuba, Vietnam, Laos, Iran, Cambodia, Burma, Morocco, Hong Kong, South Sudan, Guinea and Eritrea.

Send this to a friend